What are some amazing pictures one has to see twice to understand?

What are some amazing pictures one has to see twice to understand? by Tanuj Rathi

Answer by Tanuj Rathi:






This is my first answer on Quora.
When my friend first clicked this photo, I didn't think it was anything special. Just a selfie with a dear friend. But, I realized that when I made it my profile picture many people were confused that how was this taken.
What do you see on the first look. A selfie with some mountains and sky in the background, and there seems to be a part of mountain that is floating in the sky. If that's what you see you are wrong. It is actually a photo which was taken from an angle above our heads. What seems as the mountains are regular sized stones by a lake. And, what seems like the sky is actually the reflection of the sky in the lake. So the part of mountain is not floating in sky it is actually partially submerged in water and hence creates the illusion.
This illusion is caused totally by coincidence and we didn't even realize it until other people pointed out that there was a "floating mountain" in the photo.

Btw, I am the one in blue T-shirt. And, my friend is also a fellow quoran- Shubham Dugar

Edit 1- After some people asked for a photo from a different angle to make it clear how the stones actually were I found the following photo. I hope this will make it clear.



What are some amazing pictures one has to see twice to understand?

Leave a Reply

