India: What are things that make Indians sad?

India: What are things that make Indians sad? by Raman Rajan

Answer by Raman Rajan:

In many of the Shell petrol outlets in Chennai the boys and girls who dispense fuel have the habit of greeting their customers with a ‘namaste’ gesture. Being a soft skills trainer, what stuck me was that none of them smiled.

I brought this to the attention of the person in-charge of the outlet (that was very near my residence). For the next couple of days I could see tangible difference in the body language of the attendants.

Suddenly I found that the girls had stopped smiling. I asked them the reason. They said many of their customers ‘misunderstood’ their smile. Some were openly passing lewd remarks.

I felt really disgusted with our people. What kind of society is this?

India: What are things that make Indians sad?

Leave a Reply

