What is the best lie you have ever told your child?

What is the best lie you have ever told your child? by Penina Winisdatter

Answer by Penina Winisdatter:

Best lie I’ve ever told kids? Easy… and I still use it for noisy ones.

Some kids in our old apartment complex were yelling and screaming, playing chase, whatever… I came downstairs and said “So, you kids don’t really care about using up your screams, do you?”

“What?” they asked. curious. So I sat down and told them “Well, in your life time, you *only* get a few hundred screams. If you use them all up as a child, you’ll never ever be able to scream again… not even if a monster was chasing you!”

To their incredulous comments, I said “I learned the hard way… listen!” and opened my mouth, and pantomimed a loud scream. Really threw my heart into it. Not a single sound came out! Their eyes went huge and they all looked rather scared.

“It’s OK, you can scream when you need to… but don’t use them all up.” I cautioned. Ahhhh blissful peace!

What is the best lie you have ever told your child?

Leave a Reply

