What Indian dishes do non-Indians love the most?

What Indian dishes do non-Indians love the most? by Anna Stepanova

Answer by Anna Stepanova:

I will be leaving Hyderabad soon. Out of all those things that I love here there is one that I am going to miss most – South Indian Breakfast. The best breakfast ever!

First of all, it is so tasty that it makes me crazy. Idli, poori, uttapam, upma, vada or dosa – everything tastes like heaven. What surprises me most, though, that it is ALWAYS tasty. I might have this breakfast in someone’s house or in a small canteen on the big road, does not matter: idli always will be soft, dosa always will be crispy. I do not know how they do it.

It is hot, fresh and fulfilling. I think this is the best kind of breakfast, as it gives you a lot of energy in the morning. I am always hungry when I wake up so these rich foods are ideal for me. And they are warm and freshly made! Perfect for someone who cannot stand cereals.

It is artistic! I do not know how else I can describe efforts that are made to prepare this kind of food. When South Indian breakfast is served to you it looks like a painting with so many different dishes and sauces that come along. The picture above might be taken in a fancy restaurant but even in the smallest of street canteens it will be the same: idlies, puris, vadas and dosa or uttapam, surrounded by variety of gravies.

And after you are done with the breakfast the only thing that your heart longs for – is a cup of sweet and milky masala tea.

South Indians know how to start a day.

What Indian dishes do non-Indians love the most?

Leave a Reply

