As a non-Kannadiga, do you speak Kannada as you’re living in Bengaluru?

As a non-Kannadiga, do you speak Kannada as you're living in Bengaluru? by @hoda_hudugi

Answer by Preethi Sridhara:

Do you speak in Kannada living in Bengaluru ?

GAH. Obviously. A little too much, actually.

I do literal translations of English words which gets really funny at times.

For example,

  • Sir, ee code oDta illa!” (Sir, this piece of code isn’t running/executing)
  • “Lo, computer kittkond hoyto” (Dude, my computer crashed)
  • “Nann phone satthoytu” (My phone is dead)

So yeah.

I speak Kannada at home.

I speak Kannada with (most of) my friends.

I speak Kannada with my housekeeper, shopkeepers, bus conductors, taxi drivers, delivery boys.

I speak Kannada with my lecturers at college, with my HoD, the canteen uncle, the watchman, the peons.

Ooh ooh, in fact, the name of my computer is “Goobe”. (Owl in Kannada, but in colloquial language, “you’re a goobe!” means “you’re an idiot!”)

As a non-Kannadiga, do you speak Kannada as you're living in Bengaluru?

Leave a Reply

