If you have 10 rupees with which to live your life, how will you live?

If you have 10 rupees with which to live your life, how will you live? by @dope_ray

Answer by Rohit Kapoor:

I’ll walk to the nearest Geeta Press bookstore. Mostly these stores are at railway stations in India.

I’ll purchase Shrimad Bhagwad Gita for Rs. 8. I’m going to carry and read and re-read this book because if I’m down to just Rs 10 in life, now Rs 2, I need strength, guidance and faith to build my fortune.

Rs 1, I’m going to offer to someone needy to remind myself that I’m still better from a lot of people.

Remaining Rs 1 I’m going to keep in my pocket to cherish. Cherish all the memories that I managed to survive with just this single rupee in my pocket.

I’ll visit Gurudwaras. Sikhs serve food to the needy 365 days a year. No exception. Learn service from this race. I need food to function.

Then I’ll keep searching for jobs. Any job. It is about my survival. Any menial job would do. I know many a times I would have to take insult from people., many a times I’ll be treated like a dog, many a times I would sleep on the road with an empty stomach and many a times I would cry and wish I’m better dead. That’s when I’ll open the only book I have and look for meaning.

It would be tough. Very tough. Typing here as a thought experiment is easy. May be my spirit would break and I would die, lying on an empty street with no one to give me last rites.

If you have 10 rupees with which to live your life, how will you live?

Leave a Reply

